• 57°

GRADUATION 2017: Carson High School scholarships

Carson High School seniors received the following scholarships:

James Paul Barringer: All County Scholars, U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award, U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Scholastic Excellence Award, Mathematics Award, AP Biology Award, JCHS Top Scholar Award, SAT/ACT Hall of Fame and Duke University Scholarship.

Adrian Vergara: All County Scholars and SAT/ACT Hall of Fame.

Morgan Warren: All County Scholars, Spanish Award and Roy and Lula Goodman Scholarship, Eureka Masonic Lodge 283 Scholarship.

Elizabeth Yousey: All County Scholars, SECU “People Helping People” Scholarship and National Honor Society Scholarship.

Ariel Watkins: Michael McDuffie Memorial Scholarship and F&M Bank Scholarship.

Emma Myers: Bradley Barnhardt Memorial Scholarship.

Hannah Allen: Salisbury Rotary Club Scholarship.

Noe Sifuentes: Carson Public School Bible Teaching Association Scholarship and Belmont Abbey College Scholarship.

Hannah Barringer: U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award.

Keelee Morgan: U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence, Mona Lovett Executive Director Award, Purdue Associates & Producers Scholarship and Liberty University Scholarship.

Jessica Benton: Agriculture Award.

Brittany Anderson: Carson CTE Student of the Year and Health Science Award.

Margaret Correll: Family & Consumer Sciences Award, Art Award and Brevard College Scholarship.

Seth Fisher: Cabinetmaking Award and Masonry Award.

Ramon Garcia-Guerrero: Business & Marketing Award.

Sierra McLellan: English Award.

Ricki Goodman: Social Studies Award.

Elizabeth Medina-Diaz: French Award.

Elizabeth Edwards: Chinese Award and King’s College Scholarship.

Karlyn Dwinell: Spanish Award and Western Carolina University.

Ellen Collet: Art Award.

Isaac Bell: Student Council Award, JCHS Booster Club Scholarship and Community Blood Center Scholarship.

Elizabeth Eller: Orange & Blue Crew Spirit Award.

David Foster: High Achievement Award.

Abby James: JCHS Booster Club Scholarship.

Saharrah Thomas: Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Scholarship for S.T.E.A.M. and DAR Good Citizen Award.

Savannah Williams: Salisbury Pride-Scotty Ray Gilbert Scholarship.

Olivia Llanio: Anne Stanback-Charlotte Kinlock Scholarship and Rollins College Scholarship.

Brenden Westbrook: Bethel Enrichment Community Center Scholarship and Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Jacob Cheeseman: Ebenezer Lutheran Church Scholarship, Mt. Zion United Church of Christ: George & Ada Fleming Scholarship and Catawba College Scholarship.

Miguel Miller: Salisbury-Rowan Home Builders Association Scholarship.

Alexis Kluttz: N.C. Cooperative Extension Scholarship.

Lauren Bernhardt: Winslow Foundation Scholarship.

Micah Furr: Jaycee’s Outstanding Teen Award, Jesse C. Carson High School Principal’s Award and N.C. State Park Scholarship.

Carly Campbell: Jean Jordan Scholarship.

Patrick Street: Eureka Masonic Lodge 283 Scholarship and Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Harley Amos: Kiwanis Key Club Core Values Scholarship, Grand Eastern Star Scholarship and UNC Asheville Scholarship.

Rebecca Beaver: John O. Reynolds Memorial Scholarship.

Catherine Traina: Dare to Imagine Award.

Jared Lamb: China Grove Rotary Club Scholarship.

Cole Howard: Mt. Zion United Church of Christ George & Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Logan Ridenhour: Mt. Zion United Church of Christ George & Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Ben Shoaf: Mt. Zion United Church of Christ George & Ada Fleming Scholarship.

Miguel Valdez: Mt. Zion United Church of Christ Frank & Mary Cress Scholarship.

Hernan Hernandez: Hispanic Scholarship Fund.

Matthew Beaver: Herman Merit Scholarship-Bluefield College.

Jalyn Carter: University of Central Florida Pegasus Silver Scholarship.

Emery McCall: Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Alijuandra Street: Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Destiny Jackson: Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Khalid Myers: Pfeiffer University Scholarship.

Jared Seamon: Catawba College Scholarship.

Lyshet Joselyn Valencia: Catawba College Scholarship.

Nicholas Starnes: Catawba College Scholarship.

Kaley Knight: Catawba College Scholarship.

Christian Rape: Catawba College Scholarship.

Brandon Kimberlin: High Point University Scholarship.

Zackery Gainey: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Scholarship.

Chloe Jacobs: University of South Carolina Scholarship.

Haley Starnes: University of North Carolina at Greensboro Scholarship.

Cameron Doss: UNC-Greensboro Scholarship.

Krista Peninger: Wingate University Scholarship.

Destiny Miller: Wingate University Scholarship.

Nicole Therecka: Wingate University Scholarship.

Bryson Beaver: Lenoir-Rhyne University Scholarship.

Jessica Dziubczynski: Johnson & Wales University Scholarship.



Blotter: April 22


Lawsuit: Salisbury Police, Rowan Sheriff’s Office tore woman’s shoulder during traffic stop


‘Believe me, they’ll be fresh’: Patterson Farm welcomes strawberry crop


City appoints more members to boards, commissions, with 9 seats left to be filled


Virtual play groups the new norm at Smart Start


City meets in closed session to consult with attorney on two ongoing litigation cases


Summit takes art out of the classroom, into the student’s home


Education briefs: Gene Haas Foundation donates $12,500 to RCCC


County’s restaurant grant program dishes out funding to eight local eateries

High School

High school football: Yow out as South head coach




City moves forward on greenway extension, traffic signal upgrades


State broadband survey could help fund local infrastructure


Happy Roots adds to programming with Bic recycling program


RCCC small business center partners 53 Ideas Pitch Competition


Sheriff: Deputy fatally shot Black man while serving warrant


Garland announces sweeping police probe after Floyd verdict


District attorney won’t bring charges against former Salisbury officer depicted in K-9 video


Cooper plans to lift gathering, distancing limits by June 1


Convicted sex offender charged with having child pornography


Rowan County woman faces drug crimes for gas station incident


Blotter: Thousands of dollars in lumber taken from Newsome Road house


Locals react to Chauvin verdict, reflect on work still to do


With remote expansion, outsource provider FCR looks to become an ‘exceptional part’ of Rowan community