• 73°

Education shoutouts

Hanford-Dole Elementary

Hanford-Dole Elementary School has recognized the following students as January Good Citizens for the character trait of Respect. Each student received a personalized certificate and had his or her picture on the Good Citizen bulletin board for the month. Hanford-Dole’s Communities In Schools coordinates the monthly program.

PreKindergarten: Elizabeth McCubbin.

Kindergarten: Jeremiah Connor, London Fincher, Naomi Sanchez Holt and Romina Napoles.

First grade: Ivan Cervantes Garcia, Vanity Krider and Ka’Misze Hoover.

Second grade: GaZyairius Torrance, Madilyn Pla, Lily Shoe and William Blakeney.

Third grade: Mallory Eagle, Brooklyn Page, Victoria Garcia and Tyshun Sellers.

Fourth grade: Z’myia Vinson, Ryan Gaither and Kalisnny Soto-Baker.


Shive Elementary

The following students were named Good Citizens for December.

Kindergarten: Maddy Loyd, Mason Yost, Addy Windham, Lucas Gobble, Kylie Feliciano and Chase Taylor.

First grade: Alaina Mason, Kevin Hipp, Jaden Eudy, Riley Kiser, Aubrie James and Abel Brown.

Second grade: Campbell Kyles, Layna Linker, Ryden Dashab, Molly Steed, Evie Cutshaw, Aiden Bare, Serenity Haney and Jacob Mitchelson.

Third grade: Garrett Christy, Nevaeh Warren, Alan Herring, Luke Taylor, Abraham Flores, Tristen Mahaley, Jaden Hurst and Kate Pless.

Fourth grade: Bayley Kruger, Lenny LaRussa, Piper Bennett, Ryan Dibble, Adiana Acosta and Brayden Carter.

Fifth grade: Connor Johnson, Abby DeGroat, Addison Queen, Brayden Shive, Lori Durham and Ivan Landaverde.

CCAC: Katie Durham and Jason Blackwelder.

CCAC: Addie Rusmisell.


Wheaton College

Jared Smith of Rockwell was named to the Wheaton College dean’s list for the fall 2016 semester.

Dean’s list honors are earned by undergraduate students who carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale.

The College of William and Mary

Joseph Kent Lewis from Salisbury was recently named to the dean’s list at the College of William and Mary for the fall 2016 semester.

In order to achieve dean’s list status, a full-time degree seeking undergraduate student must take at least 12 credit hours and earn a 3.6 quality point average during the semester.

James Madison University

Kannapolis resident Briana Genevieve Craig has been named to the president’s list at James Madison University for the fall 2016 semester. Students who earn president’s list honors must carry at least 12 graded credit hours and earn a GPA of 3.9 or above.

University of North Georgia

Meghan Ashleigh Hedgepeth of Salisbury made the fall 2016 dean’s list at the University of North Georgia for achieving a 3.5 grade point average, carrying 12 or more credit hours in one semester and having no grade lower than B.

Clemson University

Rachel Patricia Jones of Salisbury graduated Dec. 15 from Clemson University.






Rowan County sees death No. 302 from COVID-19; Health Department to host final mass vaccine clinic

Ask Us

Ask Us: What happened to work on South Fulton Street home?


Blotter: Woman says she was shot in hand on Lincolnton Road


Rowan Sheriff’s Office charges Salisbury man with operating illegal gambling business


Blotter: Rockwell man arrested on felony drug, breaking and entering charges


Rep. Amber Baker discusses legislative session during Rowan Democrats breakfast meeting


Thousands of locals, out-of-towners gather for a groovy time at annual Hippie Fest


N.C. Zoo ready for expansion if lawmakers OK funding


RSS budgeting for tens of millions in federal COVID-19 relief funding

East Spencer

‘Back in full swing’ for the spring: East Spencer community gathers for food, fun and fellowship at Spring Fest


Rowan native Lingle among those honored with NC Military Veterans Hall of Fame induction


Former pro baseball player, Tar Heel standout Russ Adams finds new career with Trident Insured


Profoundly gifted: Salisbury boy finishing high school, associates degree at 12


Cheerwine Festival will stick to Main Street, stay away from new park in September


Celebrating Rowan County’s early cabinetmakers


Service Above Self announces youth challenge winners


Economic Development Commission creates search tool for people seeking Rowan County jobs


Amy-Lynn Albertson: Arts and Ag Farm Tour set for June 5

High School

High school baseball: Mustangs top Falcons on strength of hurlers


Biz Roundup: Application process now open for Rowan Chamber’s 29th Leadership Rowan class


Keith Mitchell leads McIlroy, Woodland by 2 at Quail Hollow


States scale back vaccine orders as interest in shots wanes


Major US pipeline halts operations after ransomware attack


NC budget dance slowed as GOP leaders differ on bottom line