• 41°

Education Shoutouts

Governor’s School

The following students from Rowan-Salisbury Schools have been selected to attend the Governor’s School of North Carolina:

James P. Barringer, social science; Leyna M. Pence, English; Margaret D. Smith, English; Madeline L. Wilhelm, natural science; and Patrick A. Moore, theater.

Shive Elementary

The following students have been named extraordinary Shive Stingers for the month of April:

Kayden Abernethy, Terrie Phillips, Gregory Erdman, Baylee Moore, Andrew Ellsworth, Addi Callahan-Fletcher, Nathan Kruk, Jacob Mitchelson, Patrick Sanchez, Serenity Haney, Chance Freiman, Briley Sifford, Oliver Swink, Emma Bornt, Jada Greene, Donovan Christlieb, Emily Johnson, Jayden Ireland, Jeremiah Fleming, ELijah Morgan, Jessie Torrence Lauren Campbell, Mason Deaton, Brenna Miller, David Craft, Kaiden Clodfelter, Colton Adkins, Savannah Wise, Linkin Cain, Leanna Rojas, Jesse Edge, Ava Martin, Stewart Callahan-Fletcher, Tera Simpson, Cara Voyles, Christian Hardy, Holly Stowe, Anna Tarplee, Alivia Styles, Katelinn Reynolds, Kady Griffin, Mallory Bentley, Caleb Sneed and Hunter Trexler

Randolph Community College

Randolph Community College announces the President’s List, Dean’s List, and Academic Merit List for the 2016 spring semester. Curriculum students enrolled in 12 credit hours for the semester excluding college preparatory hours and proficiency hours who receive no incompletes and have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 are eligible to be recognized on the following lists: President’s List – GPA of 4.00 and Dean’s List – GPA of 3.50-3.99

Curriculum students enrolled in at least six but less than 12 credit hours for the semester excluding college preparatory hours and proficiency hours who receive no incompletes and have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 and earn a grade point average of 3.50 – 4.00 are eligible to be recognized on the Academic Merit List. Congratulations to these students. 

Dean’s List – Spring Semester 2016

Kannapolis: Kristi Craven

Mocksville: Sarah McLaughlin

Academic Merit List – Spring Semester 2016

Rockwell: Sarah Mitchell


RCCC students win awards

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Phi Beta Lambda students returned from their state conference in Charlotte with numerous awards.

Phi Beta Lambda, and its sister organizations under the Future Business Leaders of America umbrella, include a quarter million students preparing for careers in business and business-related fields.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College award winners included:

  • Katelyn Collier — first place in Financial Analysis and Decision Making, second place in Business Communication
  • Moises Garcia Zapetoco – first place in Financial Analysis and Decision Making, second place in Public Speaking
  • Jami Safari – first place in Financial Analysis and Decision Making
  • Hanna Brotherton – first place in Desktop Publishing, Client Service award
  • Ryan Helm – first place in Desktop Publishing, fourth place in Marketing Concepts
  • Caroline Shue – sixth place in Help Desk, eighth place in Job Interview

Current Rowan-Cabarrus PBL chapter president Katelyn Collier won the Distinguished Honor of Who’s Who in North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda. This award is given for outstanding leadership and service to Phi Beta Lambda. Katelyn was nominated among many other candidates and was honored to receive this distinction.

This was the ninth consecutive year that Rowan-Cabarrus students received high honors at the North Carolina PBL State Leadership Conference. First, second and some of the third place winners automatically qualify to compete in the 2016 PBL National Conference in Atlanta this June.

University of North Carolina at Asheville

The following students were named to UNC Asheville’s Dean’s List:
Sydney Elizabeth Cole, of Faith; Cassandra Renee Long, of Salisbury and Caroline Marie Merrick, of Salisbury.
The Dean’s list is made up of full-time students who have achieved between 3.5 and 3.99 grade point average.
Berry College
Sandi Jusic, of Salisbury, was named to the Spring 2016 Dean’s List at Berry College. The Dean’s List honors students who posted an academic average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale while carrying a class load of at least 12 hours during the semester.



District attorney won’t bring charges against former Salisbury officer depicted in K-9 video


Cooper plans to lift gathering, distancing limits by June 1


Convicted sex offender charged with having child pornography


Rowan County woman faces drug crimes for gas station incident


Blotter: Thousands of dollars in lumber taken from Newsome Road house


Locals react to Chauvin verdict, reflect on work still to do


With remote expansion, outsource provider FCR looks to become an ‘exceptional part’ of Rowan community


City expects $1.5 million surplus in current budget, ability to raise some wages for police, public works


Enochville Elementary to host farewell event May 1

High School

High school softball: Carson beats West in a wild one


Seahawks QB Russell Wilson will speak at NC State graduation

High School

Wonders, Trojans facing off Monday on Cannon Ballers’ field


City approves two apartment developments, more than 160 new units


Crowds react with joy, wariness to verdict in Floyd’s death


Bill seeks to end pistol purchase permits from NC sheriffs


Rowan County sees 300th death attributed to COVID-19


Chauvin convicted on all counts in George Floyd’s death


Top North Carolina House finance chair, Rowan representative stripped of position


One charged, another hospitalized in fight between cousins


Bell Tower Green renamed to honor Stanbacks; Nancy Stanback receives key to city


Commissioners green light additional houses at Cherry Treesort in China Grove


A.L. Brown will hold in-person, outdoor graduation


Granite Quarry awards FEMA contract for Granite Lake Park


City to vote on apartment developments, final phases of Grants Creek Greenway project