Arc of Rowan gives awards for service

Published 2:07 pm Wednesday, March 30, 2016

The Arc of Rowan Annual Membership Meeting and Reception took place on March 22 at The Arc of Rowan office.

Awards were given and new officers and board members were installed.

Horizons Unlimited received the Community Inclusion Award to recognize an organization that is building community connections to support and include people with disabilities.

Anna Walker was named Parent Volunteer of the Year, recognizing an individual who has a child with developmental disabilities, and whose volunteer efforts have improved the welfare of persons with developmental disabilities.

Waterworks Visual Arts Center received the Community Service Award recognizing an organization or a group that has exhibited outstanding community service in support of people with developmental disabilities.

The Self-Advocate Award went to Harold Mollinedo, as a person with a disability who has contributed in a distinguished manner service to the community.

Julie Sadler was named the Support Professional of the Year, recognized as an individual employed in community developmental disabilities services or supports who has demonstrated sensitivity and the ability to provide outstanding support which results in increased independence for people with developmental disabilities.

Educator of the Year went to Jordan Farmer, a teacher who has demonstrated excellence in teaching students with developmental disabilities while working towards the most inclusive education setting.

The Volunteer of the Year is Beth Foreman, who has given generously of time and talents to accomplish the mission of The Arc of Rowan.

Dean and Lori Ewart and family won the Distinguished Services Award, which honors a family who has contributed, in a distinguished manner, to the promotion of rights of and or services to people with developmental disabilities in Rowan County.

Board President Norman Albrecht presided over the meeting. New officers installed for 2016-2017 include president, Jay Taylor; vice-president, Janet Stirewalt; treasurer, Gary Rhodes; and secretary, Beth Foreman.

Board members for 2016- 2017 include David Bolick, Wilson Cherry, Gina Dinse, Beth Foreman, Mary Jane Hartley, Bridgette Henderson, Peter Murphy, Suzette Pritchard, Gary Rhodes, the Rev. Russell Smyre, Janet Stirewalt and Jay Taylor.

Self advocates are Andrew Stirewalt and Wanda Jones.

Ex-officio members are Vernice Gallon and Gary Yelton.

The Arc of Rowan is a Rowan County United Way member agency.