Education Shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, February 18, 2016

North Rowan Elementary

The following students were selected as Good Citizens for the month of January at North Rowan Elementary based on the character trait Good Judgement:

PreK/Kindergarten: Evan Baker,Coryion Sims,Kenneth Lezotte, Tennyson Krik, Miracle Turner, Patience Shepherd and Carrington Smith
First gade: London Patterson, Logan Culp, Kerstin Neal, Mariah Jackson, Naomi Burts, Ty Clemmons, Alaya Hawkins, Mallory Rhyne and Janiyah Fomond
Second grade: Dedrick Hinson, Jay Cleary, Spencer Newton, Sandy Mendoza, Tavon Lark and Jason Castillo
Third grade: Qudir Thomas, Michael Stickland, Desmond Toomer, Jackson Straight, Addisyn Finsel, Jasmin Espinal-Baquis and Aniyah Wise
Fourth grade: Michael Furguson, Corey Ellis, Ella Jones, Anaya Gaiter, Ava Trapp, Deztyni Shephard, Jadi’da Atkins, Alanna Rivers, Haley Brewer and Cody Anderson
Fifth grade: Neveah Wood, Braxton Jones, Miayanna Sherrill Jones, Cameron Miller, Isaiah Boulder, Quavon Murphy and Brayden Thomason

Overton Elementary Honor Roll

The following students were named to the Honor Roll at Overton Elementary for the second quarter reporting period.

All A Honor Roll: Jaylen Hopkins, Joshua Mendia, Raja Blakenship, Quentin Hippert, Ava McCall, Gracelynn Sipe, Ren Blankenship, Chanse Bost, Julia Shelton, Diem Blankenship, Joshua Burns, Tyler Conforti, Davaiiah Griffin, Blake Barrier, Connor Conforti,  Raina Calhoun ,Kate Preslar, Sofia Martinez, Kimora Stoner, – Warren Fesperman, Addie Myers and Makara Trick

AB Honor Roll: Brooklynne Witherspoon, Honesty Houston, Clear Wesley, Nevaeh McCullough, Seven -Hazel Boone, Daniel Pickett, Ahmiel Torrence, Micah Bailey,Prince Davis, Addison Day, Nehemiah Mason, Clementine May, Audrey Urbina, Alivia Whiteous, Beton Lawson, Aiden Palmore, Shamia Pipkin, Cherish Wesley, Trazelle Ward, Trinity King, Joshua Allen, Omarion Hicks, Shamara Litaker, Ayana Miller, Jerome Blakeney, Chris Kafitz, Azriel Simpson, Alyssa Stone, Janahvia Harrell, Alexzander Rutherford, Barack Stroud, Jackson Sparger , Maggie Goodnight, Torian Brown, Maggie Cross, Kaleb Gilmore, Pearl Gilmore, Ebbie Lescoe, Shemiah Price, Nicholas Eppeheimer, Joesphina Huynh and Benji Anderson.

Salisbury Academy students win spelling bee

Salisbury Academy students Roshen Amin and Tom Bristol took first and second place in the Western Region Intermediate Spelling Bee that was held at Salisbury Academy on Monday, Jan. 8. The competition drew eight schools and 22 students.

First place winner Amin, an eighth grader, found his toughest competition to be his fellow student at the academy, seventh grader Bristol. Amin and Bristol competed as the final spellers for the last ten rounds of the bee.

Amin will advance to the Winston-Salem Journal Regional Spelling Bee on March 20. The winner of that bee advances to the Scripps National Bee in Washington, D.C.

Virginia Military Institute

Daniel Z. Robinson, of Kannapolis, and Bryce S. Bucklin, of Concord, were among the 735 cadets who were recently named to the Dean’s List at Virginia Military Institute for the first semester of academic year 2015-16.  To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a cadet 
must have a term grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale and no grade below C.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville

Zoe Knoble of Kannapolis graduated Dec. 12 from the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.

William Woods University

Kiersten Lockman, of Kannapolis, was named to the William Woods Dean’s List during the 2015 fall term. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must be full-time and have achieved a minimum 3.6 semester and cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Wake Forest University

Hunter Denham, of Salisbury, has been named to Wake Forest University’s Dean’s List for the fall 2015 semester. Students who achieve a 3.4 and no grade below a C were named to the list.

Western Carolina University Dean’s List

Kannapolis: Allison S. Ashbaugh, Anna C. Ashbaugh, Josef Cruz, Michael C. Furr, Te’Ericka R. Jackson, Emily N. Martens, Jennifer A. Raper, Kaleb A. Spry, Alena N. Strahan, Jennifer K. Xiong and Skyler B. Kicinski

Rockwell: James N. Bailey, Gary C. Maurer, Katherine E. Barringer, Ashley N. Bostian, Jade R. Estes, Casey N. Gullett, Christopher T. Lambert

Landis: Larry W. Burris and Sarah M. Cook

China Grove: Destiny N. Blevins, Jesse H. Chen, Alexander W. Gilmore, Brooke A. Myall, Robert B. Perry and Jacob A. Stubbs

East Spencer: Danielle L. Hosch

Cleveland: Brandy A. Lloyd

Salisbury: Hannah B. Agner, Samantha A. Baker, Rachel E. Bell, Talitha C. Bowers, Matthew Y. Choi, Katlyn N. Cook, Liberty G. Cozart, Alexander B. Day, Alaina C. Demeree, Andrew B. Goodman, Merrea E. Hudson, Kylie V. Kluttz, Megan M. Mastro, Morganne R. Melton, Jacob R. O’Neal, Preston L. Perry, Robert B. Perry and Kristen B.Wilhelm

Concord: Kasie M. Barton, Robert A. Bianculli, Alexander P. Canup, Sarah E. Cox, Austin L. Crabtree, Alison L. Crabtree, Lindsay M. Crudele, Jillian H. DeBoer, Jeffrey L. Deal, Tiffany M. Diaz, Elissa C. Detar, Morgan T. Fisher, Allan D. Griffiths, Emma L. Hand, Nicole L. Hayton, McKenzie R. Hines, Lauren E. Hunkele, Taylor J. Jay, Delaney R. Kelnhofer, Chelsey L. Kepley, Virginia L. Knight, Kaitlyn R. Langolf, Emily G. Lowder, Alesha P. Mason, Kenyetta S. McGowens, Kimberly N. McLucas, Mary C. Nivens, Starkim H. Noble, Daniel J. Poplin, Sydney A. Ragin, Nicholas R. Ruby, Brynn M. Smith, Elijah S. Troutman, Savannah J. Tuttle, Sarah K. Walters and Taylor C. Warren

Gold Hill: Andrew C. Jones and Lara A. Drew

December 2015 graduates

Concord: Kasie Maranda Barton, Erik Davis Bell, Robert Angelo Bianculli, Jeffrey Lee Deal, Daniel Aaron Ford, Hannah Lee Harris, Gabriel Ryan McGaha, Cody John Murgas and Jessica Cregger Ross

Gold Hill: Lesley D Plowman

Kannapolis: Josef  Cruz, Michael Christopher Furr and Kevin M. Goodman

Cleveland: Brandy Alexandra Lloyd

Landis: Larry Wayne Burris

Salisbury: Landon Ryan Beattie, Seth Tyler Lewallen, Megan Marie Mastro and Renee Marie Roberson

UNCC honors

Chancellor’s List: Carrie Davidson and Anna Harrell, both of Salisbury, were recently named to the Chancellor’s List at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, for the fall 2015 semester. In order to achieve Chancellor’s List status, a full-time student must earn a grade point average between 3.80 and 4.00 in 12 or more semester hours of credit.
Dean’s List: Banks Fisher, Brittany Merryman and Michaela White, also all of Salisbury, were named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2015 semester at UNC Charlotte. In order to achieve Dean’s List status, a full-time student must earn a grade point average between 3.40 and 3.79 in 12 or more semester hours of credit.

Davidson, Harrell, Fisher and Merryman are all graduates of Salisbury High School. White is a Carson High School graduate.

Pell nominated for Naval Academy

Garrett Mason Pell from China Grove was nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy by U.S. Representative Richard Hudson. Pell attends Jesse C. Carson High School.

Scholarship recipient

Mahaley Jarvis of Salisbury is the recipient of a scholarship offered by Franklin Presbyterian Church’s Malissa Fielder Mowery Scholarship Fund. This fund was established as a memorial for Mowery by her family and friends. Mowery, who with few formal years of education was an avid promoter of continuing education in order to promote the glorification of God. Jarvis and her husband, M. J., have four children Lee, Isabelle, John, and Ivan. As Youth Director she organizes and executes all youth activities which include outings and fund raising. Just as she has shown with her own children she will guide the youth in Christian growth.