• 54°


Georgia Southern University honors

Seth F. Hudson of Mooresville graduated from Georgia Southern University on with a degree in electrical engineering.

Cameron Feriante of Granite Quarry has been named to the university’s dean’s list. To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.


State University of New York New Paltz graduate

Kelsey Payne of Kannapolis earned a bachelor of arts with a concentration in organizational communication studies from the State University of New York New Paltz.


Lenoir-Rhyne honors

Rodney Eugene Cline of Salisbury graduated from Lenoir-Rhyne University.

The following students were honored for their academic success at the college.

President’s list – Rhonda Lynn Cheshire of Salisbury

Dean’s list ­– Allyson Tyler Dalton of Spencer, Calvin Jquan Edwards of Salisbury, Alyssa Jordan Hall of Salisbury, Carter Rhodes Woolly of Salisbury


University of North Carolina-Pembroke honor roll

The University of North Carolina-Pembroke announced its chancellor’s list for the spring semester.

Students are eligible for the chancellor’s list if they achieve a minimum semester quality point average of 3.7 while passing at least 12 semester hours of course work; none of the 12 hours may be pass/fail.

Salisbury – Najwa S. Allison; Andrew David Beck; Tamara Nicole Oglesby; Jason Nicholas Shuping


UNC Chapel Hill dean’s list

Cleveland – Jonathan Current, Leslie Pence

Conover – Janssen White

Mooresville – Haley Leazer

Rockwell – Katelyn Buffett

Salisbury – Rebecca Agner, Kayla Boley, Joel Brittain, Kaitlin Canipe, Taylor Draper, Mary Dunn, Katherine Grant, Levi Huffman, Abby Kepley, Alana Koontz, Hunter Latimer, Kaley Lowman, Chloe Monroe, Lyndsey Moore, Allison Murphy, David Petty, Erin Roy, Lauren Roy, Jonathon Schofield, Adam Shoemaker

Spencer – Elijah Shackelford

Other – Taylor Young


N.C. House of Representative page

Chris Norris, a student at Jesse Carson High, recently served as a page for the N.C. House of Representatives.  He is the son of Timothy and Leigh Ann Norris of Salisbury and was sponsored by N.C. Rep. Harry Warren.  Speaker of the House Tim Moore appoints and introduces the pages to members during the Monday night session.

The House relies on the service of pages to assist members and their staffs during session at committee meetings, in their offices, and to run errands around the legislature, while learning about the legislative process of our state.





Sheriff’s office: Two charged after suitcase of marijuana found in Jeep


Thomasville officer hospitalized after chase that started in Rowan County


Board of elections discusses upgrading voting machines, making precinct changes


Lawmakers finalize how state will spend COVID-19 funds


Salisbury Station one of several ‘hot spots’ included in NCDOT rail safety study


Essie Mae Kiser Foxx appeal denied, school considering options


Iredell County votes to move Confederate memorial to cemetery


Lara Trump may have eyes on running for a Senate seat


Rowan among counties in Biden’s disaster declaration from November floods


PETA plans protest at Salisbury Police Department on Friday


Essie Mae Kiser Foxx appeal denied, charter revoked


29 new positives, no new COVID-19 deaths reported


Blotter: Woman charged with drug crimes


Nesting no more: Eagles appear to have moved on from Duke’s Buck Station


The Smoke Pit leaving downtown Salisbury for standalone building on Faith Road



High School

High school football: Hornets’ Gaither set the tone against West


Salisbury to show off new fire station


Livingstone College to host virtual Big Read events this month


City makes some appointments to local boards, holds off on others to seek women, appointees of color


Education briefs: RCCC instructor honored by Occupational Therapy Association


Second quarter financial update shows promising outlook for city’s budget


Genia Woods: Let’s talk about good news in Salisbury


City attorney will gather more information for Salisbury nondiscrimination ordinance