• 37°

Education shoutouts

Catawba College Dean’s List

A total of 301 students have been named to the Dean’s List for the 2014 fall semester at Catawba College. Students named to the Dean’s List have achieved a 3.5 grade point average in 15 or more semester hours.

Local students named to the Dean’s List are:

China Grove – Brandy Marie Burgess, Paul Edward Frye, Lori Johnson Webster

Cooleemee – Danielle Marie Pennington

Granite Quarry – Stephanie Michele Feriante, Taylor Haven Louise Griggs

Kannapolis – Paul Andrew Brown, Kristy Marie Galusha, Fernando Guerrero Nava, Hailey Bree Kelly, Danielle Linker Mauldin, Cayli Nicole Mena, Ethan Connor Pethel, Madison Taylor Sides

Landis – Patrick Neal Karriker

Mooresville – Samuel Austin Collins, Jessica Lynn Harvatin, David Alexander Henry, Kourtney Nikole Jones, Juanice Lynn Love,           Franklin L. Wagner, Ian P. Orr

Rockwell – Joanna E. Anderson, Jason F. Cauble, Andrew Teague McCollister

Salisbury – Hannah D. Addair, Maria Elizabeth Adkins, Alexandra Haskell Adkins, Courtney Kent Alderman, Allison Michelle Baucom, Brandi Weddington Boling, Justin Michael Burroughs, Christina Clark, Christopher William Derrick, Rhonda Jarvis Elder, Eric Vincent Ellis, Stephanie G. Ervin, Elisabeth Dale Farmer, Amanda Payton Fuller, Karen Reynolds Garcia, Lauren Elizabeth Gaskill, Cynthia Marianne Goodson, Latavia Denise Gray, Tristin Morris Harwood, Tara Lynne Hebert, Gary Lynn Horne, Michael Wayne Jones, Dominique Adele Karriker, Jacqueslyne Lauraine Kelly, Kristen Nicole Kimmer, Hannah Beth Lewis, Brook Summer Lingle, Carrie Lynn Loman, Trevor Joseph Loudin, Justin D. Ludwick, Michael Lane Lyerly, Averi Elizabeth Mauney, Kimberly Michelle Monroe, Kenneth Daniel Mowery, Flor de Maria Navarrete Escobar, Kendra K. Oliver, Liam Eason Pendergrass, Jennifer Renee Pettigrew, Christina Cline Potts, Karen Elizabeth Presnell, Mark W. Pullium, Crystal Jessica Reyes, Emilie W. Scharf, Sara Kay Sellers, Kolisha Denice Sheffield, Virginia Wingfield Thompson, Raymond Harry Vodochodsky, Robin Hartley Walker, Shelby Elizabeth Wellmon, Brittany Rae Wescott, Carla Ashley Wilson, Sydney Yorke Wilson, Elisha B. Wilson, Shannon L Wright, Seng Yang

Spencer – Joseph Chace Jensen, Stephen Kyle Smith


Furman University Dean’s List

The following local Furman University students have been named to the Dean’s List for the 2014 fall semester. To be named to the Dean’s List, the student must obtain a GPA of 3.4 or higher.

Kannapolis – Emily Gale

Salisbury – Anna Flynn, Olivia Smith


Bostian Elementary Good Citizens

The following students have been chosen as good citizens for the month of December.

Kindergarten – Trinity Cochran, Lane Jenkins, Hailey Helms, Isaac Johnson, Brendyn Reyes, Katie Stirewalt

First grade – Carissa Beije, Addison Fowler, Gracie Kerrigan, Khloe Arquette, Samantha Monday, Madison Tesch

Second grade – Summer Hill, Hayden Conklin, Laila Furr, Jayven Parks, Gloria Lemus, Warren Hawthorn

Third grade – Madisyn White, Riley Zickafoose, Mari Ortega, Barrett Hilton, Karysa Horne, Carter Stallings

Fourth grade – Cody Russell, Lonna Addison, Emory Taylor, Meg Bivens

Fifth grade – Owen Blackwelder, Kathie Anderson, Benjamin Stegall, Mary Turpin


ECU Dean’s List

The following students from Kannapolis have been named to the Dean’s list for the fall 2014 semester:

Matthew Barrier, Brittany Collins, Alexander Freberg, Benton Johnson, Christopher Johnson, Miranda Raymond, Kyla Reece, Brittany Wood


University at Albany Dean’s List

William Miller of Kannapolis has been named to the Dean’s list for the fall 2014 semester.


Davidson County Community College Dean’s List

The following students have been named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2014 semester. These students must complete at least 12 hours of course credit and receive at least a 3.5 GPA.

Faith – Rebecca Jane Cole

Rockwell – Allison Marie Allman

Salisbury – Hasnija Begic, Scott Edmond Catteau, Timothy Winston Jackson

Spencer – Kevin Jeffery Aitken


William Woods University Dean’s List

Kiersten Lockman of Kannapolis has been named to the Dean’s List at William Woods University. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must be full-time and have achieved a minimum 3.6 semester and cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.


Baylor University Dean’s List

Elizabeth G. Mallory of Kannapolis has been named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2014 semester. To be eligible for the Dean’s List, a student must obtain at least a 3.7 GPA while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.


UNC Asheville Dean’s List

Allana Elizabeth Ansbro has been named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2014 semester. The Dean’s List is made up of full time students who have achieved between a 3.5 and 3.99 GPA.


Wofford College Dean’s List

Emily Diane Boggs of Salisbury and Stacey Maguire Mangan of China Grove have been named to the Dean’s List at Wofford College. To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled for at least 12 semester hours of graded courses and attain a semester grade point average of 3.6 or higher.


Sacred Heart Catholic School honors

The following students were selected as good citizens for the month of January.

Pre-Kindergarten – Kate Donaldson, Kendra Velazquez

Kindergarten – Kellen Beal, Kendyl Causey

First grade – Mary Grace Antosek, Caleb Shores

Second grade – Patrick Beal, Mary Church

Third grade – Emma Rose Dishman

Fourth grade – Madison Jones

Fifth grade – Ben Childress

Sixth grade – Patrick Rattz

Seventh grade – Victoria Jones

Eighth grade – Caleb Fleeman, Tessa Brown

Eighth grader Jason Matthews won the annual Sacred Heart Geography Bee, sponsored by National Geographic.  Matthews will continue in the competition by taking a written national exam to see if he qualifies for the North Carolina state competition to be held on Friday, March 27, 2015.  The champion from each state is invited to compete in the National Geographic Bee – National Championship in Washington, D.C., May 11-13, 2015.



School board talks competency-based learning, receives new offer on Faith Elementary


Chamber of Commerce warns buyers about used tractor company with Cleveland address


American Legion Post plans cocktail sip


Harold B. Jarrett Post to host blood drive


17 new COVID-19 cases, one new death reported


School meals expect a smooth transition for students


Fully vaccinated people can gather without masks, CDC says


Lane, ramp closures scheduled for I-85 in Salisbury


Blotter: March 8

Ask Us

Ask Us: How can homebound seniors be vaccinated?


Political Notebook: Interim health director to talk COVID-19 at county Democrats breakfast


‘Their names liveth forevermore:’ Officials dedicate Fire Station No. 6 to fallen firefighters Monroe, Isler


Blotter: Salisbury man charged for breaking into Salisbury High, getting juvenile to help


With virus aid in sight, Democrats debate filibuster changes


City officials differ on how, what information should be released regarding viral K-9 officer video

High School

High school basketball: Carson girls are 3A champions


High school, college sweethearts marry nearly 50 years later


With jury trials set to resume, impact of COVID-19 on process looms

Legion baseball

Book explores life of Pfeiffer baseball coach Joe Ferebee


Rowan-Salisbury Board of Education to receive update on competency-based education


Biz Roundup: Kannapolis expects to see economic, housing growth continue in 2021


A fixture of downtown Salisbury’s shopping scene, Caniche celebrates 15th anniversary this month


Slate of new officers during local GOP convention; Rev. Jenkins becomes new chair


Landis officials narrow search for new manager to five candidates; expect decision within a month