Commissioners to consider designating Housing Authority board seats

Published 1:10 am Sunday, November 2, 2014

When the county commissioners voted one month ago to appoint two new members to the Housing Authority’s board, they effectively removed Kannapolis representation. But they could adopt a formal measure Monday to ensure the south Rowan municipality and East Spencer have permanent spots on the board.

The commissioners’ consent agenda includes a resolution that would formally designate one seat on the Rowan County Housing Authority for a resident of Kannapolis and another for a resident of East Spencer. Both cities contain housing complexes owned by the housing authority. The East Spencer appointment would become effective on Nov. 4 and the Kannapolis seat would become effective on Sept. 1, 2015.

Commissioner Mike Caskey said he worked with Kannapolis City Councilman Ryan Dayvault in crafting the resolution.

“Clearly it was their intent to have a representative from Kannapolis,” Caskey said about Kannapolis officials. “It was just something we didn’t know because over time it just sort of fell through the cracks.”

Caskey mentioned a February 1994 resolution between the housing authority and Kannapolis that states: “The Rowan County Housing Authority, when given the opportunity by the Rowan County Board of Commissioners, will suggest representation on the authority’s governing body. When a vacancy occurs on the authority’s governing body, the authority will notify the city of Kannapolis in order that the city can make its wishes known to the Rowan County Board of Commissioners.”

During discussions about Kannapolis’ representation, Caskey said the idea of expanding the number of housing board members to more than five was raised. Caskey said simply dedicating certain seats was an easier solution.

He said the appointees could be residents of one of the housing authority’s three complexes but didn’t necessarily have to be.

Olin Miles was the last Kannapolis resident to serve on the board. Miles left in September after not receiving enough votes from the commissioners to be reappointed.

Other items on commissioners’ consent agenda:

• Removing Julian Burton from his current position as review officer for the Register of Deeds office and appointing Franklin Gover III, who works in the county’s planning and development office, to the position.

• A memorandum of agreement between the commissioners and N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission.

In the memorandum, the Rowan County commissioners would agree to several different projects at Dan Nicholas Park. The commissioners would: build a fishing pier, stock sport fish in the park’s pond and establish a public fishing area inside of the park.

• Accepting the donation of a gazebo for Ellis Park.

• Set a date for a quasi-judicial hearing in reference to a conditional use permit for Carolina Perlite Co.

The company is requesting a conditional use permit to construct a 12,000 square foot building addition and a new processing furnace to their facility on U.S. Highway 52, according to county documents.

• Closing the county offices for the Thanksgiving Holiday at 1 p.m. on Nov. 26.

• Granting new County Manager Aaron Church the authority to refund fees equal to or less than $1,000, if the fee was paid in error, services weren’t received or a product was defective.

• Donating a Rowan County Sheriff’s Office car to the Rowan County Rescue Squad.

• Granting more than $12,000 in refunds from the Tax collections Office and more than $5,000 in refunds from the Vehicle Tax System.

• Setting a public hearing date for a commercial retail development near I-85 that would include Dick’s Sporting Goods and Hobby Lobby.

Items on the commissioners’ regular agenda include:

• Recognizing Aaron Thurston and Daniel Medina for being named the state champions in the 2014 N.C. Paramedic Competition.

• Consideration of extending an incentive agreement with Southern Power for two years.

• Approval of the 2015 schedule of values.

• Approval of budget amendments.

• Approval of multiple board appointments.

Contact reporter Josh Bergeron at 704-797-4246