Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Scotland Karriker, a rising seventh-grader at Corriher-Lipe Middle School, was recently nominated to attend the National Young Leaders State Conference in Greensboro.
He is the son of Coyt and Crystal Karriker of Mooresville.
Outstanding students from across the nation took part in the leadership development program from June 6-9.
Themed Courageous Leadership, the National Young Leaders State Conference (NYLSC) helps young scholars take an introspective and personalized assessment of their leadership sills and abilities.
Throughout the four-day program, students built a working “toolkit” of strategies to help them dream, create and implement plans that will change how they view their role as leaders in their communities.
Appalachian State University names dean’s and chancellor’s list students.
To be on the dean’s list, undergraduates must either be enrolled in 12-14 hours of academic credit and attain a minimum 3.45 grade point average or be enrolled in 15 hours or more of academic credit and attain a minimum 3.25 GPA.
The chancellor’s list recognizes full-time undergraduates who attain a 3.85 grade point average or higher. Chancellor’s list students also earn dean’s list distinctions.
China Grove dean’s list — Walter David Archie, Torie Elizabeth Lucas, Alannah Brooke Wilson.
Cleveland chancellor’s list — Jonathan Luke Current.
Cleveland dean’s list — Veronica Martinez, Jacob Paul Phifer, Mackenzie Gail Radford.
Faith dean’s list — Nanci Rose Lefko.
Gold Hill chancellor’s list — Samantha Kristine Morgan.
Gold Hill dean’s list — Kory Leigh Morgan.
Kannapolis chancellor’s list — Mckinley Ann Goodnight, Hannah Nicole Gulledge, Meghan Elyse Kusper, Kayla Brooke Reed, Natalie Laine Tresslar, Erin Nicole Yacuzzo.
Kannapolis dean’s list — Tyler Reed Buckwell, Taylor Alayne Hauck, Melony Rose Hiester, Matthew Edmund Kusper, Cua Lao, Whitney Cameron Moore, Samantha Ruth Oglesbee, Karley Elizabeth Reed, Amanda Rae Ritchie, Jonathan Ruiz, Lindsay Rebecca Shore, Allison Tresslar, Stevie Ray Ann Wunder, Haihoua Yang, Samuel Eric Yow.
Mount Ulla dean’s list — Taylor Michelle Bryan, Nicole Christine Lucente.
Salisbury chancellor’s list — David Tripp Caldwell, Shea Marie Comadoll, Addie Ruth Hurst, Samuel Christian Lakey, Megan Michelle Linke, Michael Anthony Paolino, Magan Christina Richard, Brandon Louis Snider, Lily Margaret Yatawara, Jessica Megan Yost.
Salisbury dean’s list — Dusty Lyle Agner, Sadie Doan Chuor, James Lucas Comadoll, Hannah Alexandra Coulter, Joseph Bradley Cress, Patrick Daye, Madalyn Clair File, Andrew Johnathan Fortune, Daniel F. Garwood, Lauryn Blair Green, Austin Scott Greenwood, Jared Charles Hough, Breeann Dawn Lambert, Lindsay Michelle Livengood, Carmen Elizabeth Lowe, Richard Thomas Madison IV, Matthew Taylor Marshall, Briana Faith McLeod, Summer Skye McIntyre, Katrina Robbins, Natasha Lynn Small, Cassandra Rochell Strobel, Sarah Ashley Teel, Susanna Eleanor Wooten.
The following students graduated from ASU in May.
The summa cum laude designation reflects a minumum cumulative grade point average of 3.85; magna cum laude is awarded to students with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.65; and cum laude is awarded to students with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.45.
China Grove — Hunter Blake Price, Bachelor of Science, appropriate technology, magna cum laude.
Gold Hill — Samantha Kristine Morgan, Bachelor Of Science, biology, cell/molecular bio, magna cum laude.
Kannapolis — Meghan Elyse Kusper, Bachelor of Science, biology, cell/molecular bio, University Honors, summa cum laude; Jeremy Hayden Moore, Bachelor of Science, biology, pre-professional.
Mount Ulla — Taylor Michelle Bryan, Bachelor of Science, sustainable development, cum laude; Megan Elizabeth Moose, Bachelor of Science, elementary education .
Salisbury — Coty Carl Greene, Bachelor of Science, health promotion; Alexandra Blair Grubb, Bachelor of Science, English, secondary education, magna cum laude; Joshua M. Krotchko, Bachelor of Science, music industry studies, Kelsey Christine Lane, Bachelor of Science, elementary education, summa cum laude; Briana Faith McLeod, Bachelor of Science, communication studies, cum laude, Lauren Smith, Bachelor of Science, recreation management; Andrew Kyle Whisenant, Master of Arts, educational media.
The Delta Xi Omega Chapter of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. awarded six $500 scholarships to deserving high school graduates at a reception on June 15 held in their honor at the Community Business Center, West Bank Street.
The honorees were:

• Timothy Bates II, North Rowan High, son of the Rev. Timothy and Yvette Bates. Timothy is to attend Johnson C. Smith University majoring in physical therapy or sports medicine.
• Dalisha Jacobs, Rowan-Salisbury Early College, daughter of Levon and Renay Jacobs. Dalisha is to attend East Carolina University majoring in pre-medicine.
• Brandon Johnson, North Rowan High, son of Courtney and Crystal McCrae. Brandon is to attend Wingate University.
• Kristen Mathis, East Rowan High School, daughter of Joe Mathis. Kristen is to attend Appalachian State University, majoring in biology.
• Denzel Price, North Rowan High School, son of Ruth Long. Denzel is to attend Winston-Salem State University, majoring in biology.
• Fayelessa Shropshire, North Rowan High School, daughter of Isaiah and Tammy Shropshire. Fayelessa is to attend the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, majoring in English or communications.
The Delta Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. provides annual scholarships to deserving graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in academic achievement, leadership and community service. Applications for the scholarships are received in early spring.
The president of the local Alpha Kappa Sorority is Renese Bates and the chairperson is Lovetta Moore.
Credit Union scholarship

The Carolinas Credit Union Foundation (CCUF) awarded Connor Bost of Faith a scholarship from the Members Scholarship Fund. Bost, who is a member of Members Credit Union, plans to attend Appalachian State University.
The Scholar Vision Funds are a collection of funds and resources established to help credit union members in North and South Carolina achieve a higher level of education.
North Greenville University in Tigerville, S.C., has recognized Kayce Elisabeth Beck from Faith for her academic accomplishments by naming her to the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must maintain a 3.5 grade point average while taking a minimum of 12 hours.
Brianna Brinkley of Salisbury has been named to the dean’s list at the Savannah College of Art and Design for spring quarter 2013. Full-time undergraduate students who earn a grade point average of 3.5 or above for the quarter receive recognition on the dean’s list.
Christopher Johnston, a resident of Salisbury, graduated from The University of Toledo with a Masters of Science degree in exercise science.