Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 20, 2013

Chowan University’s special 165th Graduation Commencement ceremony in the Helms Center on May 11th featured a keynote address by and honorary doctorate conferral to the U.S. Sen. Richard Burr.
John Lohman of Salisbury graduated magna cum laude and on the dean’s list with a Bachelor of Science degree in history pre-law. He received this year’s Outstanding History Student Award and the Senior Ambassador Award at April 24th’s annual Awards Day.
Donald Roy Bergsma III graduated during the 124th commencement exercises at Woodberry Forest School on May 25. He will attend Furman University. He is the son of Dr. and Mrs. Donald R. Bergsma Jr. of Salisbury.
Shelby Lauren Kesler of Gold Hill graduated from Meredith College with a Bachelor of Science degree.
Sacred Heart Catholic School honor roll
This is the trimester honor roll for Sacred Heart Catholic School:
Fourth grade — Jared Burton, Josh Klein, Katy Klein, Marina Mueller, Patrick Rattz and Kayla Young.
Fifth grade — Claire Allen, Korey Glover and Hannah Smith.
Sixth grade — Jason Matthews and Mary Sobataka.
Seventh grade — Alex Antosek, Elly Burks, Michael Childress, Keegan Dillon, Kyle Glover, Julia Honeycutt, Johnson Huynh, Grace Kellicut, Emily Maxey, Alonnah Murphy, Ben Roy and Miriam Roy.
Eighth grade — Will Casmus, William Clark and Mathias deComarmond.
May Good Citizens — Andrew Baker, Coty Carter and Mackenzie Ford (pre-kindergarten); Sari Lewin and Edgar Ramirez (kindergarten); Tristan Restar (first grade); Robert Bennett and Angelina Pierson (second grade); Miles Lester (third grade); Kellin Ours (fourth grade); Olivia Burke (fifth grade); William Austin and Olivia Cunningham (sixth grade); Alonnah Murphy and Abigail Lund (seventh grade); and Charles Langlais (eighth grade).
June Good Citizens — Nick Antosek, Clara Bean, Amanda Beltran, Colin Donaldson and Mabel Harrison (third grade); Jared Burton, Caroline Cardelle, Katy Klein, Taylor Meyers and Kayla Young (fourth grade); Carter Jenkins and Victoria Jones (fifth grade); Joseph Clark, Carsyn Parrott, Reilly Ploplis and William Marino (sixth grade); Alex Antosek, Will Taylor, Kyle Glover, Adanya Johnson, Anne Marie Metz, Sara Nguyen, Walker Shellhorn and Autumn Ulrich (seventh grade); and Joseph Chaney, Natalie Nunez and Bryan Reid (eighth grade).
Jonathan Allen Hall of Kannapolis has made the dean’s list at Greensboro College for spring. To qualify, a student must have a 3.5 grade-point average or better while having taken at least half of his/her course credit hours at Greensboro College’s main campus.
Salisbury High School teacher Felecia Young has received the 2013 Outstanding Teacher Award from the North Carolina Technology in Education Society (NCTIES).
This award recognizes and honors one teacher who has demonstrated outstanding achievement and leadership in implementing technology to improve education.
Award recipients are selected from a pool of nominations submitted to NCTIES from around the state of North Carolina. Nominees were evaluated using a set of selection criteria, and the winner was announced in March at the NCTIES conference in Raleigh.
Young was given a $500 check and $2,000 to be used toward expenses for the International Society for Technology in Education 2013 Conference, which takes place next week in San Antonio, Texas.