Candidates begin filing for 2012 electoral races

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, February 14, 2012

By Karissa Minn
SALISBURY — Four candidates could hardly wait to file at the Rowan County Board of Elections office on Monday.
They all signed in just after noon, when the filing period for most 2012 races began in North Carolina. Candidates have until noon on Feb. 29 to get their names on the ballot.
Among the first to file for office was N.C. Rep. Harry Warren, who hopes to have a second term representing State House District 77. The Republican addressed supporters outside the county administration building Monday before heading inside to the elections office.
“I know there’s a lot of work that needs to be done, and I know I’m going to run again, so there’s no reason not to put first things first,” Warren said after filing.
Some people in the small crowd also carried signs for Craig Pierce, who filed for Rowan County commissioner at noon, along with fellow Republican Gus Andrews.
“I wanted to show the voters of Rowan County that I am fully invested in seeking this office,” Pierce said.
Andrews, a former commissioner, said he’s running again because he feels like he now has more time to devote to serving the county.
Todd Adams also filed for re-election Monday to the Kannapolis Board of Education. He took that step right away, Adams said, to let people know he is committed to keeping his seat on the board.
North Carolina’s primary elections will take place May 8.
Other candidates filing Monday:
• N.C. Rep. Fred Steen and Richard Hudson, both Republicans, filed for U.S. House in North Carolina’s 8th district. The seat is currently held by U.S. Rep. Larry Kissell, a Democrat, who also filed for re-election.
• Democrat Gene McLaurin, mayor of Rockingham, and Republican Gene McIntyre, a Stanly County commissioner, both filed for the open N.C. Senate District 25 seat.
• N.C. Sen. Andrew Brock, a Republican, filed for re-election to the state senate’s 34th District.
• Cabarrus County District Court Judge Martin McGee filed for the N.C. Court of Appeals.
Contact reporter KarissMinn at 704-797-4222.
Facebook: Karissa.SalisburyPost