Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 19, 2011

DAR names winners
The Elizabeth Maxwell Steele Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution has named Samantha Ann Washko, a ninth-grader at Salisbury High School, as the District IV winner of the The Christopher Columbus History Essay Contest for grades nine through 12.
The contest asked students to write from the following prompt: “What lesson from Christopher Columbus’ life can we draw on today to bring clarity to our decisions in the face of an uncertain future?”
Ebony Nichole Burris, an eighth-grader from Knox Middle School, won the essay contest for fifth- through eighth-graders.
That essay prompted students to write about the following topic: “Pretend you are Paul Revere writing your memoirs and relate various accomplishments for which you wish to be remembered in the annals of history.”
The DAR promotes American history and good citizenship through the annual essay contest.
Gibson earns High School Scholars award
Kelsie Gibson, a student at A.L. Brown High School in Kannapolis, has been awarded a $1,000 Ambassador Scholar Award by the National Society of High School Scholars.
Gibson was selected for the award for excellence in academics and for serving as an outstanding leader and role model and has been invited to a recognition ceremony in Washington, D.C., on July 29.
NSHSS was founded by the same Nobel family that established the Nobel Prizes in 1901 for the purpose of recognizing and encouraging academic excellence among exceptional high school students.Bostian Elementary Good Citizens
The staff of Bostian Elementary would like to recognize the following students for standing out as good citizens for this month. These students have all gone above and beyond what is expected of them at school.
Kindergarten: Joecelyn Valois, Maddie Lambert, Daniel Savage, Madison McCraw, Serenity Doby, Rayleigh Mullis, Landry Stewart, Hailey Meckes, Emory Taylor, Katie Stirewalt.
First grade: Kali Nelson, Victoria Storey, Alex Barrera, Heidi Banda, Ty Talley, Malachi Harris, Grace Gilley.
Second grade: Anna Rymer, Parker Steele, Anderson Moore, Corie Jones.
Third grade: Shelby Lee, Angela Dobrican, Sam Ramirez, Caroline Price, Will Bivens, Landon Parker, Shakia Smallwood, Reid Zickafoose.
Fourth grade: Caleb Rymer, Kenya Childers, Kiersten Smith, Bradley Smith, Nathan Johnson, Cheyenne Aldridge.
Fifth grade: Taz Tucker, Sawyer Smallwood, Gage Eddy, Charity Mock, Ryan Edwards, Nick Rogers, Bayley Atkinson.
Brevard honors
The following students have been named to the dean’s list for the spring semester of the 2010-2011 academic year at Brevard College in Brevard.
Kannapolis: Verntasia Mordsha Finley.
Salisbury: Katelynne Elizabeth Poole, Amanda Gail Possidente and Tony Dean Jr. Sisk.
To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must be enrolled full-time and have earned a 3.5 grade point average or higher for the semester.
The following students have been named to the honor roll for the spring semester of the 2010-2011 academic year at Brevard College.
Lexington: Lindsay Michelle Pritchard.
Kannapolis: Kevin Reid Hamilton, Dalton Monroe Johnson, Helen Scott Bratcher.
Mooresville: Christopher Mark Shore.
To be eligible for the honor roll, students must be enrolled full-time and earn a grade point average of 3.0 to 3.49 during the semester.
Cleveland Good Citizens
Good Citizens for April from Cleveland Elementary School:
Kindergarten: Jamila Smith, Taquan Howell, Sierra Lemley, DeTravious Wood, Mia Wielgus, Patrick Little.
First: Mary Blankenship, Kailee Keller, Megan Graham, Tina Beaver.
Second: Miranda Miller, Matthew Eller, Tristan Bailey, Victoria Roberts, Parker Safley, Elijah Thompson.
Third: Abreesha Forney, Beatrice Landaverde, Diana Taylor, Slade Sheridan, Justin Sheesley, Zoe Hager, Cody Dias.
Fourth: Sandi Cobb, Chloe Rupard, Libby Ball, Layton Butler, Megan Phillips, Amanda Ruff.
Fifth: Victoria Fields, Haley Beaver, Jessica Landaverde, Katie Williams, Cheyenne Lowrance, Skye Moya.
Faith Good Citizens, Deed Doers
Faith Elementary’s April Good Citizens and Good Deed Doers:
Good Citizens — Moriah Crowell, Hunter Wall, Aiden Bennett, Gavin Clement, Luke Harwood, Neely Vinson, Ellie Wilhelm, Harley Dry, Vernon Newton, Dany Blackwell, Dylan Broome, Caleb Sikes, Mackenzie Nichols, Emma Dennis, Serena Wale, Emma Amos, Cole Sifford.
Good Deed Doers —Matthew Hodgson, Ma-Lisa Miller, Abbey Dennis, Anna Teague, Jordan Jenkins, River Ott, Aubrey Pickler, Peyton Diaz, Hannah Reese, Dakota Hill, Brayden Garrett, Hazen Hotchkiss, Karley Teague, Shelby Maycock, Taylor Brown, Kassidy King, Garrison Seitz.
Knox Junior Honor Society
On May 3, the Knox Middle School National Junior Honor Society inducted 73 new members.
A special speaker, Carley Drye, president of the Salisbury High School National Honor Society, inspired the members.
The new members include 40 sixth-graders: Caroline Alexander, Eric Allen, Salicia Batten, Marcus Blair, Eleanor Brown, Katie Bullock, Sarah Burris, Simeon Caldwell, Jamaica Carby, Bryce Chapman, Megan Chapman, TaCora Crump, Marlon Cruz, Dalynn Cuthbertson, Christian Deneen, Jacobline Doe, Daniel Engwall, Rodney Graham, Darrius Jones, Zyteria Lane, Peter Martin, Samuel McKee, Anthony McKeithan, Elizabeth Medina-Diaz, Wesley Moore, Jake Murphy, Radha Patel, Laquessea Patterson, Sean Perry, Boothe Pfaff, Dalton Poteat, Tywun Rivens, Ivette Salazar, Milgia Sanchez, Zyaira Smyre, Nicholas Veros, Lindy Walker, Jared Wallace, Devantae Wilkes and Joseph Young;
28 seventh-graders: Michael Anton, Quson Brown, Brooks Burris, Derek Carter, Miyahka Farris, Malik Ford, Luz Garzon-Cruz, Jake Goodnight, Victor Guerrero-Pena, Darius Jackson, Benny Le, Robert Leonard, Ryan Leonard, Joshua Lynch, Chloe McGee, Kristophor Morgan, Deonna Morris, Kate Murph, Amelia Peck, Ronnie Rollings, Evelyn Sanchez, Lain Slate, Angel Thomas, Cody Williams, Malik Williams, Azure Windfield, Lora Withers, Tarik Woods;
five eighth graders: Ebony Burris, Mahogane Godfrey, Zane Gray, Cameron McLendon and Robert Slate.
Member qualifications include a GPA of 3.0 or greater, and evidence of leadership, service, character and citizenship.
The Faculty Council responsible for selecting members includes Carlotta Chambers-Ramseur, Sandi Meeks, Joan Wooten, Ginger Throckmorton, and Greg Stienbarger.
The faculty adviser for the society is Betsy Cunningham. Lisa Mays, assistant principal for Knox led the new members in the NJHS pledge.
Members leading the program included Megan Chichester, Samielle Phillips, Thurston Alexander, Casaundra Allen, Brandon Ralston, J.C. Burton and Max Patel.
Koontz honor roll
Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School third quarter honor roll includes Raemun Cameron, Christian Kane, Parker Lippard, Kristy Yang, Hannah Wahl, Trinity Helms, Chandler Lippard, Mary Stoelting, Christian Hernandez, Emily Free, Lindsay Elmore, Tyler Jones, Tenijah Smith, Eriq Argrett, Jenifer Sactillo, Haracio Camacho, Leah Davies, Olivia Gregory.
Teacher attends seminar
Karen A. Bostic of West Rowan Middle School recently attended a seminar held at the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching, a professional development program for the state’s teachers.
NCCAT conducts interdisciplinary, content-specific seminars for pre-K through 12th-grade teachers in the environmental and biological sciences, technology, humanities, arts, communication and health. NCCAT’s instructional programming is designed to give teachers the support and resources they need to be highly effective and enhance student achievement.