Salisbury-Rowan Economic Development Commission has new chairman

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Jeanie Moore, vice president of continuing education programs at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, has been elected chairman of the Salisbury-Rowan Economic Development Commission.
A board member since 2003, Moore has served as treasurer and vice chairman. She is the first female chair of the organization. Other EDC officers include Diane Greene of Salisbury, vice chairman; Harold Earnhardt of Rockwell, secretary; and James Taylor of Salisbury, treasurer.
Moore is RCCC’s liaison to the North Carolina Research Campus and played a lead role in the creation of the R3 Career Center in Kannapolis. She has been a member of RCCC’s senior leadership team since 1996, participating in strategic planning, budgeting, facilities planning and design and program development.
She is a member of the Centralina Council of Governments Economic Development Board, the N.C. BioNetwork BioBusiness Advisory Committee and the Advisory Committee for Biotechnology in the Charlotte Region รณ North Carolina Biotechnology Center. She also is active with multiple chamber of commerce committees in Rowan and Cabarrus counties.
A native of Rowan County, she earned a bachelor’s degree in special education from Greensboro College and a master’s degree in adult education from Appalachian State University. She has also completed additional studies at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
She has worked at RCCC since 1977 and is a former member of the N.C. Community College Economic Workforce Development Leadership Committee, president of the N.C. Community College Adult Educators’ Association from 1999 to 2000 and co-director of the N.C. Community College Leadership Program from 1990-1992.