Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College has named Mallory Cooper of Salisbury its 2006-07 Cooperative Education Student of the Year.
Cooper has earned an associate degree in criminal justice technology. She completed her first cooperative education (co-op) placement with the Cabarrus County Sheriff’s Office and her second with Stonewall Jackson Training School of the N.C. State Government Internship Program.
She plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice-law enforcement at the University of North Carolin at Wilmington in August.
RCCC’s co-op student of the year nominees are chosen by the college’s co-op faculty coordinators. A selection committee comprised of employers and high school administrators and faculty members selects the student of the year. Selection criteria include grade-point average, each student’s award application, interviews, letters of reference and employer evaluations.
Faith recognition
Faith Elementary School recently recognized the following students.
May Good Citizens:
Kindergarten: Bradley Smith and Payton Massey.
First grade: Tanner Nance, Kenny Clarke, Shanna Hudson, Julian Whaley and Lacey Hadley.
Second grade: Addi Bost, Lexi Kluttz, Emily Gallman and Trevor Keller.
Third grade: Aunika Allen, Tabitha Smith and Payton Peterson.
Fourth grade: Amy Brown, Abby Wilhelm, Haley Query and Addit Gantt.
Fifth grade: Sydney Cole, Kylie Kluttz and Kinsley Bean.
May Good Deed Doers:
Kindergarten: Lauren Yousey, Hunter Lund and Grace Leget.
First grade: Andrea Griffin, Alex Cuellar, Chandler Basinger and Tanner Hawkins.
Second grade: McKenzie Collins, Alyssa Clement, Harley Amos and Taylor Martin.
Third grade: Jordan Smith, Rachel Eller and Megan Robinson.
Fourth grade: Tryston Sebastian, Ashlyn Vanhoy, Will Artz and Jared Rhoden.
Fifth grade: Seth Reynolds, Sarah Dover and MyQuon Stout.
WSOC senior picks
Fourteen area students ar among the 139 high school seniors selected as Carolinas’Outstanding Graduates by WSOC-TV Channel 9 and the partners of 9 Family Focus.
The students, selected by their schools based on academic achievement, school involvement, extra-curricular activity and additional responsibilities, will be featured in a series of public service announcements airing on Channel 9 June 25-July 31.
They include William Campbell, Salisbury High School; Daryll Moose, West Rowan High School; Ju-Young Shin, North Hills Christian School; Mary Hannah Ellis, Albemarle High School; Mackenzie White, Carson High School; Erin Witalison, Gray Stone Day School; Anna Megan Pardew, Mooresville High School; Dustin Musselman, A.L. Brown High School; Pamela Coats, North Stanly High School; Stephanie Hill, South Rowan High School, Jessica L. Smith and Samantha G. Smith, North Rowan High School; Christiana Marlene Harris, Mooresville Christian Academy; and Anna K. Weaver, East Rowan High School.
Clemson scholarship
Hannah deBreuil Peach, a senior at Salisbury High School, has been awarded a renewable academic recruiting scholarship and other academic scholarships to attend Clemson University this fall. The total award is $12,000 a year.
Peach, daughter of Bob and Barbara Peach of Salisbury, plans to major in psychology.
At Salisbury High, she is a member of the National Honor Society, AP Scholar with Distinction, PTSA Scholar and Student Government Association officer. She received the Norman Ingle Science Award for superior academic achievement in science and was voted by her teachers to receive the Salisbury Lions Club Outstanding Student Award.
Meredith dean’s list
The following area students have been named to the spring semester dean’s list at Meredith College in Raleigh for earning a 3.5 or higher grade-point average:
Lexington: Molly Baker and Emily Hedrick.
New London: Amanda Parrish.
Kannapolis: Margaret Corl.
Salisbury: Katherine van Wagenberg.
Mooresville: Brianna Sherman.
Rockwell: Brittany Cornelius.
Woodleaf citizens
Woodleaf Elementary School recently recognized the following students as May Good Citizens:
Kindergarten: Alicen Church, Kendyl Gregory, Ryan Josey, Dakota Kinley, Mason Leonard and Ashley Radtke.
First grade: Chandler Burleson, Preston Eagle, Cody Hamm, Stacey Ketchie, Michael Kluttz and Joseph Phelps.
Second grade: Oscar Bautista, Jacob Boyd, Slade Counts, Ava Drexel, Autumn Kinley and Brenden Westbrook.
Third grade: Ashley Bennett, Kayla Blackburn, Miquel Grimes, Alexis Honeycutt and Hanna Melchor.
Fourth grade: Cheyenne Barnes, Breanna Dunn, Katie Fowler, Byron Kiser, Destiny Lyerly and Jeremy Simpson.
Fifth grade: Tori Adams, Oscar Aguilar, Emily Baty, Destiny Blackwood, Stephen Brown and Diane Wallace.