People and Places

Published 12:00 am Friday, November 7, 2008

Earnhardt reunion
Descendants of the Henry Milas and Josephine Hopkins Earnhardt family met on Sunday, Oct. 26, for their sixth Earnhardt reunion at Union Lutheran Church on Bringle Ferry Road. More than 130 family members attended.
The Earnhardts lived in the Dunns Mountain and Crystal Lake areas. Their children were Hettie Bell Earnhardt Allman, Della Earnhardt Wyatt, James David Earnhardt, Charlie Edward Earnhardt, Samuel Council Earnhardt, Lillie Myrtle Earnhardt Hartman, John Henry Earnhardt and Dock Earnhardt.
Jan Pruette and Amy Earnhardt welcomed everyone to the reunion. Roland Langley of Lexington gave the blessing before the family enjoyed the covered-dish lunch. A table displayed framed pictures of Milas and Josephine Earnhardt. Scrapbooks of the Earhardt family history featuring reunion pictures, newspaper articles, family trees, and old photographs were also displayed.
Copies featuring Milas and Josephine’s photographs and a listing of their children and their marriages and also their grandchildren were given to the Earnhardt descendants. Fall harvest arrangements and fall cut flowers decorated the tables and dining room area.
The family enjoyed an evening of fellowship, sharing family stories and family photographs. Group pictures were also made of the Earnhardt descendants.
A crystal basket was given to the oldest woman present, Elizabeth Rufty Weaver, 88, of Salisbury, and a ceramic fall tray was given to the oldest man present, James Adam Earnhardt, 87, also of Salisbury.
Deaths since last year’s reunion were Carl Lee Earnhardt of Lexington and Sadie Earnhardt Beck of Providence Forge, Va., brother and sister descendants of the Hettie Bell Earnhardt family; and Mable Earnhardt Bentley of Salisbury, descendant of Charlie Edward family. Framed photographs were displayed in loving memory of these deceased descendants.
Gold dollar coins were awarded to Addisyn Gobble, 5 weeks old; Tristan Rei Frink, 3 months old; Kalljiah Marie Bentley, 10 months old; Wesley Earnhardt, Anna Gobble, Emily Jean Earnhardt, Tanner Evan Gibson, all turned one year old since the last reunion; for being the youngest descendants present.
The family of Samuel Council Earnhardt had the most descendants present. James Adam and Jean Bost Earnhardt were the longest married couple of 66 years.
Sharon Waller of Friendly, W. Va., and Sandy Beck of Providence Forge, Va., traveled the farthest.
Family members also traveled from Salisbury, Lexington, Spencer, Rockwell, Jamestown, China Grove, Kannapolis, Granite Quarry, Faith, Morven, Virginia and West Virginia.
Amy LoRae Earnhardt of Salisbury, descendant of Charlie Edward Earnhardt, and Jan Weaver Pruette of Granite Quarry, descendant of Hettie Bell Earnhardt, were the reunion coordinators.South Rowan reunion
The South Rowan Class of 1963 held its 45th reunion Oct. 24-25 at South Rowan High School. The threat of rain Friday evening kept most away, but six classmates attended the football game in Mooresville.
Saturday evening, classmates and guests gathered at the school cafeteria and toured open hallways. Classmates viewed a DVD that included pictures of classmates and photos taken at previous reunions; however, the DVD was mostly created as a tribute to deceased classmates.
The entertainment for the evening was provided by Elvis (Michael “Mailvis” Thomas) and enjoyed by all.
Reunion committee members were recognized: Tisha Schenck Wiley, Jim Corriher, Bill Karriker, Tom Easterling, Linda Deal Honeycutt, Gene Miller, Reid Bradshaw and Brenda Smith Seamon.
Classmates attending from North Carolina were Reid Bradshaw, Luther Collins, Sue Jones Baumgartner, Robert Kerr, Gareth L. Overcash Sr., all of Salisbury; Ranetta Allmon Sweatte, Peggy M. Dunlap, Walter Moore, Ruth Sechler Calhoun, Dianne Sloop Heilig, Brenda Smith Seamon, Richard D. Wallace, all of China Grove; Gene Miller of Landis; Tony Barnhardt, Tom Easterling, Linda Fesperman Stegall, J.C. Holt all of Kannapolis; Suzanne Bland Williams, Dianne Kiser Blanke, Tisha Schenck Wiley, Malinda Wolfe Kehoe, all of Charlotte; Carolyn Blalock Dale of Morganton; Jim Corriher, Bill Karriker, both of Cornelius;
Carol Gilbert Stubbs, of Gold Hill; Eddie Goodnight, Lloyd Sanders, both of Concord; Joe Davis of Eden; Lanny Deal, Mack Sides both of Mooresville; Charles H. Honeycutt, Linda Deal Honeycut of Mount Ulla; Elizabeth Shell Long of Faith; Ruth Thomas Rowe of Wingate; David Patterson of Ocean Isle Beach.
Attending from out-of-state was Thomas Mike Ritchie of Rock Hill, S.C.
The class voted to hold its next reunion in 2 1/2 years at South Rowan High School.
Arthritis Support Group
The Arthritis Support Group met Oct. 27 for their closing meeting.
The gathering was in honor of Barbara Bovim Chesky, the group’s founder and leader over the past l8 years, who passed away several months ago.
Tables were decorated in Barbara’s favorite color, blue with white. Drinks and goodies gathered by Patty Wise and Betty Thompson were enjoyed.
Vanda Crowell gave the invocation.
Dr. Gordon Senter honored Barbara with favorite and warm memories. Mary Frances Edens and other members spoke in her memory, and Rick Eldridge, director of Rufty- Holmes Senior Center, described the gold leaf, donated by friends, which was added to the memorial tree at the Center.
Barbara’s husband, Jim Chesky, told several of Barbara’s favorite jokes.
Fran Burding told several short stories, remembering Barbara’s love of humor and wonderfully positive attitude.
Ruth Meade is acting leader of the Arthritis Support Group.
Morgan reunion
The annual reunion of the late Henry H. Morgan family was held Sept. 28 at the Grace Lutheran Church parish house.
The first reunion was a birthday celebration for the late Mary M. (John H.) Morgan on Sept. 24, 1966. Descendants gather for a covered-dish luncheon on the fourth Sunday of September each year at Grace Church, where generations of the Morgan family worshiped.
Prizes were given to Lon Honeycutt, oldest (90); Dustin Morgan Jr., youngest (15 months); and Diane Morgan, who traveled farthest.
Updates to the family history should be sent to one of the following officers: Libby Coggins, president; Deena Lanning, secretary; Blayne Morgan, treasurer.