Education Shoutouts

  • Posted: Thursday, April 3, 2014 1:25 a.m.

Shive King and Queen Bees

Shive Elementary School recognizes the following students and staff members for showing a random act of kindness.

Donnovan Wheeler, Jeremiah Fleming, Jaelyn Earnhardt, Samir Camejo, Noah Johnson, Griffin Yarbrough, Carson Smith, Raeden Swinson, Jessie Torrence, Brenna Miller, Elijah Morgan, Riley McCullough, Addy Barnes, Mason Lambert, Caroline Poole, Preslee Helton, Bella Weiss, Aidan Brown, Christopher Sneed, Garrett Christy, Lauren Campbell, Jada Greene, Brady Cameron, Jana Swink, Sidney Shore, Makenzie Hallman, Taylor Hallman, Corry Sneed, Chandler Sneed, Sydney Miller, Reese Miller, Gabriel Watkins, Thomas Vang, Mason Weiss, Cameron Reilly, Joshua Loyd, Elijah Morgan, Brennan Sinclair, Alix Vazquez, Terry Honeycutt, Preston Troutman, Lainey Sweet, Brayden Cain, Zane Vanderburg, Jakob Laroche, Bradley Griffin, Summer Null, Connor Rayfield, Victoria Chao, Jasmin Kennerly, Hannah Johnson, Jesse Edge, ALeah Gaultney, McKenzie Heald, Allison Morris, Jaden Crosby, Jessie Torrence, Caleb Fortune, Daniel Jesse, Braden Shie,Lexus Ridenhour, Layla McGuire and Landon Buckey.

Photography contest winners

The Home School Legal Defense Association announced that Morgan Readling, 12, and Jordan Readling, 9, of Salisbury placed as finalists in its 9th Annual Photography Contest.

Homeschooled students ages 6 to 19 were invited to submit photos capturing one of three themes, based on their age category. No advance digital editing was permitted, with the exception of cropping and specific basic edit features applied to the photo as a whole.

Morgan’s photo developed the theme “my perspective” and depicted a dandelion. Jordan’s photo developed the theme “my world” and depicted baby robins. In recognition of the excellence of their photography, Morgan and Jordan were selected as finalists in their category. Winners received cash prizes.

Landis Citizens of the Month

Landis Elementary School announces its citizens of the month for March 2014.

Kindergarten — Hailey Sanchez, Tucker Cockrell, Jayden Pletcher and Julie Cagle

First grade — Miranda Duenaz, Kyle Somerville, Leland Kennedy, Daniel Sanchez and Za’Riyah Phillips

Second grade — Erica Smith, Tyjuan Williams, Allison Byrne and Lesley Panchi DelaCruz

Third grade — Morgan Rayfield, McKinley Sartain, Jordan Galarza and Lacy James

Fourth grade — Deven Fox, Autumn Kamili, Emily Villamar and Victoria Sampson

Fifth grade — Jayden Dextraze, Gracie Huneycutt, Raechel Payne and Paige Chabala

Isenberg Good Citizens

Isenberg Elementary School announces its Great Gators for the month of March.

Pre-kindergarten – Brayden Hartwell

Kindergarten – Kaleigha Allison, Beverly Blackwell, Anna Cisneros, Nahjiana Duren, Damien Jones, Daneill Lowery, Treveon McCormick, and Arihanna Torrence

First grade – Kiara Acosta-Logos, Elizabeth Alvarado-Martinez, Tamya Boyd, Landon Overcash, Joy Shaw, Khari Short, Khristian Washington, and Simon Wordsworth

Second grade – DeShaun Butler, Madelyn Casey, Jaylan Everhart, Zion Hall, Brycen Kirk, Rosemary Li, Eva Moultry, and Ayazhane Wells

Third grade – Arnasjelle Corpening, Daniel Escobar, Christian Hopper, Jaykwon Jackson, Catherine Romero, and Hannah Ronquest

Fourth grade – Daxary Herrera, Brandy Letrick, Taniya Medlin, Estella Sandoval, Domanae Wilks, and Breyonce Wright

Fifth grade – Cody Fassler, Ariel Grant, Taz Parker, Imani Smith, Jamir Tucker, and Gary Walton

Knollwood Knights of Character

Knollwood Elementary recognizes its Knights of Character for the month of March. One student is selected from each class every month to be recognized for a character trait. The trait for March was “honesty.” These students will be presented with a certificate and attend a quarterly social.

Delaney Sanchez, Raegan Britt, Kemauri’ Pinkston, Destiny Scruggs, Darian Medina Hernandez, Denise Delgado Penagos, Baily Bost, Haley Boyd, Karym Alvarez, Lizmary Torres, Leonardo Fragoso, Connor Price, Lilian Tovar, Leyde Magana-Morales, Chloe Proctor, Reagan Anderson, Joselyn Campechano, Erik Morales-Hernandez, Chris Hidalgo, Ernesto Castro Guerrero, Rafael Caballero, Yadira Morales Hernandez, Karina Mier, Brynn Sokolowski, Cassie Williams, Evelin Jaimes, Mariana Zapata, Jazira Higdon, Francisco Nava-Sanchez, Angie Henriquez-Cruz, Cesar Campuzano-Moran and Angel Molina Vega.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.