Municipal filings kick off

Cleveland Mayor Pro Tem Danny Gabriel files for the town’s mayorship Friday as the municipal filing period began.
Cleveland Mayor Pro Tem Danny Gabriel files for the town’s mayorship Friday as the municipal filing period began.

SALISBURY — At noon, on the nose, Danny Gabriel kicked off this year’s municipal election season by filing for the Cleveland mayorship.

Cleveland’s four open seats this year are among the more than 40 up for grabs in municipalities across the county. The municipal filing period began at noon Friday and runs until noon July 19.

After 19 years of serving as a commissioner — including as mayor pro tem the last term — Gabriel called his mayoral candidacy “a natural transition.”

“I’ve been sitting there for 19 years. I know a lot of the regulations. The way things are supposed to be done,” Gabriel said. “I think it’s just a natural progression to go to the next step and see if I can keep leading the town.”

Cleveland is one of seven municipalities, including Kannapolis and Salisbury, with mayoral seats at stake.

With all five city council seats available, Salisbury is sure to be one of the most notable races of the season.

Several others filed Friday, including:

• Cleveland Commissioner — Richard L. Taylor

• East Spencer Alderman — Tammy Corpening (Incumbent)

• Granite Quarry Alderman — Michael Brinkley

• Rockwell Mayor — Tim Draper

• Salisbury City Council — William C. Peoples Jr.

• Spencer Alderman — Jeff Morris (Incumbent)

In Cabarrus County:

Kannapolis City Council • — William Cranford

• • •

The following municipal officials’ terms expire this year:

• China Grove: Town Council — four year terms — Brandon Linn, Charles Seaford, Mike Upright.

• Cleveland: Mayor — two year terms — John I. Steele Jr.

Commissioners — four year terms — Patrick T. Phifer, Travis Summitt, Danny Gabriel.

• East Spencer: Mayor — two year terms — Barbara Mallett.

Aldermen — four year terms — Phronice Johnson, Rosa Burris, Tammy L. Corpening.

• Faith: Aldermen — two year terms — W. Todd Peeler, Keith Deal, Gary Gardner, Bill Johnson, Gay Sanderson.

• Granite Quarry: Aldermen — four year terms — Eloise Peeler, Brad Kluttz.

• Kannapolis: Mayor — four year terms — Bob S. Misenheimer.

City Council — four year terms — R. Gene McCombs, Randy Cauthen, Darrell Hinnant.

• Landis: Aldermen — four year terms — Dennis Brown, D. Craig Sloop.

• Rockwell: Mayor — two year terms — Beau Taylor.

Aldermen — two year terms — Chuck Bowman, Charles Wingerson, Timothy Justin Crews, Eric Moore, Tim Draper

• Salisbury: City Council — two year terms — Paul Woodson, Maggie Blackwell, William (Pete) Kennedy, Karen Alexander, Brian Miller.

• Spencer: Mayor — two year terms — Jody Everhart.

Aldermen — two year terms — Jim Gobbel, Kevin Jones, Jeff Morris, Scott Benfield, David Smith, Reid Walters.

Contact reporter Nathan Hardin at 704-797-4246.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.