Contact your congressmen

  • Posted: Monday, March 18, 2013 12:39 a.m.

The N.C. General Assembly is currently in its 113th session.

If you would like to contact a lawmaker about an issue, the Congressional Quarterly provides these tips:

• State the purpose for writing in the first paragraph. If you’re writing about a specific piece of legislation, identify it.

• Be courteous and to the point. Use examples to support your position.

• Address only one issue in each letter; and, if possible, keep the letter to one page.

Here is contact information for local members of the N.C. General Assembly and the U.S. Congress.

N.C. State Senators

• Sen. Andrew C. Brock (R)

Dist. 34, Davie/Rowan/Iredell

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 521

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Sen. Gene McLaurin (D)

Dist. 25, Anson, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly

16 W. Jones St., Room 1118

Raleigh, NC 27601-2808


• Sen. Stan Bingham (R)

Dist. 33, Davidson, Montgomery

16 W. Jones St., Room 2117

Raleigh, NC 27601-2808


• Fletcher L. Hartsell Jr. (R)

Dist. 36, Cabarrus, Union

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 300-C

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


N.C. State Representatives

• Rep. Harry Warren (R)

Dist. 77, Rowan

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 611

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Rep. Linda P. Johnson (R)

District 83, Cabarrus

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 301D

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Rep. Jerry C. Dockham (R)

Dist. 80, Davidson County

16 W. Jones St., Room 2204

Raleigh, NC 27601-1096


• Rep. Rayne Brown (R)

Dist. 81, Davidson

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 633

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Rep. Julia C. Howard (R)

Dist. 79, Davie/Forsyth

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 302

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Rep. Carl Ford (R)

Dist. 76, Cabarrus/Rowan

300 N. Salisbury St., Room 607

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925


• Rep. Larry G. Pittman (R)

Dist. 82, Cabarrus

16 W. Jones St., Room 1321

Raleigh, NC 27601-1096


U.S. Senate

• Sen. Kay Hagan (D)

521 Dirksen Senate Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20510


• Sen. Richard Burr (R)

217 Russell Senate Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20510


U.S. House of Representatives

• Rep. Virginia Foxx (R)

N.C. Dist. 5

2350 Rayburn House Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20515



3540 Clemmons Road, Suite 125

Clemmons, NC 27012


• Rep. Richard Hudson (R)

N.C. District 8

429 Cannon House Office Bldg.

Washington, DC 20515



325 McGill Ave., N.W., Suite 500

Concord, NC 28027


• Rep. Mel Watt (D)

N.C. District 12

2304 Rayburn House Office Bldg.

Washington, D.C. 20515-3312



1230 W. Morehead St., Suite 306

Charlotte, NC 28208-5214


Governor Pat McCrory

• Office of the Governor

20301 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-0301


919-7332120 (fax)


Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.