Robertson Foundation elects Bates, Busby as new board members

  • Posted: Sunday, March 17, 2013 12:58 a.m.
    UPDATED: Sunday, March 17, 2013 1:17 a.m.
The Rev. Timothy Bates
The Rev. Timothy Bates

The Rev. Timothy L. Bates and Dr. Bret Rudy Busby have been elected to the board of directors of the Blanche & Julian Robertson Family Foundation.

Their election brings the board to its full strength of 12 members and fills the seats left vacant by the recent death of James F. Hurley III and the retirement of James G. Whitton. Both Hurley and Whitton had served on the board since the foundation was formed in 1997 and began operations in 1998.

Both Bates and Busby are Salisbury natives.

Bates is a graduate of North Rowan, Catawba College and Hood Theological Seminary. He currently pastors Calvary and Cameron Presbyterian churches and is active in the community with Communities in Schools, HealthLink, serves on the board of Smart Start, is a motivational speaker for Headstart and volunteers with several groups supporting North Rowan High School athletics.

Bates served in the Army Reserves and supports Presbyterian men’s activities and programming in regional North Carolina.

Busby is an orthodontic dentist practicing in Salisbury. A graduate of Charlotte Country Day School, he spent a year abroad in Rennes, France. After graduation from Duke University, he completed his dental education at the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry. He is active in a number of civic and professional groups, including the UNC Orthodontic Alumni Association, Step-Up Salisbury, the Community Care Clinic, Catawba College Chiefs Club board of directors and previously served on the Salisbury Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.

Busby has made presentations to professional groups and written articles for professional journals.

Bates and Busby join the leadership of a foundation that began its philanthropy in 1998 and has approved over $29 million in grants. The 2013 grant cycle has just concluded its application period. The board will announce its new award decisions in early May.

The foundation began with a gift of $18 million in late 1997 from Salisbury native and Wall Street investor Julian H. Robertson Jr. The foundation was established and funded in memory of Robertson’s parents and in recognition of their lives here in Salisbury and appreciation for his youth here.

Robertson has given another $18 million to the foundation in recent years and visits occasionally to meet with the board and receive progress reports.

Nearly 800 grants have been approved by the board over the years, and that funding has played a major role in a variety of new programs and projects in Salisbury and Rowan County.

The foundation is chaired by Margaret H. Kluttz; Clay Lindsay is vice chair, and Lillian L. Morgan is secretary and chairs the grants committee. Other board members include Catrelia S. Hunter, Scott Maddox, Alex T. Robertson, Spencer Robertson, Wyndham Robertson, Fred J. Stanback Jr. and Jason A. Walser. David Setzer is executive director.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.